The Catalyst

Painful as it may be, a significant emotional event can be the catalyst for choosing a direction that serves us – and those around us – more effectively. Look for the learning. ~Louisa May Alcott (Image: Office.com)

by Sandi Martinez

‘Catalyst’ as defined in the Free Dictionary has two different meanings: 1. Chemistry A substance, usually used in small amounts relative to the reactants, that modifies and increases the rate of a reaction without being consumed in the process.  2. One that precipitates a process or event, especially without being involved in or changed by the consequences.

I would like to focus on definition # 2.  I’m finding that healers encounter highly spiritual events that may change them physiologically; in contrast, # 1 focuses on actual substance reactants.

We don’t have to go very far though to prove this point, or even verify if it has any truth.  If you are a healer and you are reading this, you’ll find that if you look back at moments of the magic that happens when you’ve massaged, used Reiki, or Acupressure on an animal or human, you might have experienced body temperature changes, or other ‘unexplainable’ reactions.  And furthermore, do physiological changes compute to chemical reactions in our bodies, as well those being worked on?

Looking back, my dog Samson was a catalyst for me in 2001.  Those of you whom have attended the Canine Massage courses in Castle Rock, CO, have met my best friend Samson!  I was heart-broken, a bit lost, and basically thrown into a major life-change that I simply wasn’t prepared for – the last thing I needed was to care for another little being – but the universe had a plan.  I needed a loyal friend.  I needed to know what that felt like.  By the same token, Samson, just skin and bones, as well as very frightened and cautious, and had exhibited abused behavior, needed me.  We both became catalysts for each other.  I might challenge definition # 2.  I was totally changed by Samson’s presence in my life, and he in turn was totally changed by my presence in his life.

While my purpose isn’t to challenge the Free Dictionary, we here at RMSAAM would love to hear about your catalytic experiences, or how you plan to use your gifts as a healer to affect positive and long-lasting changes with your gifts.  Because while there is no guarantee that you will not be affected by any of the changes you inspire, can you guarantee the other party won’t be profoundly affected?  And if the other party is profoundly affected, are you ready to take full responsibility for a clearly much-needed healing, within a fellow human being, and our animal counter-parts?  Being a healer is not only an honor; it is a responsibility; are you ready to be a part of this exciting, fulfilling, and life-changing career, as an Animal Massage Practitioner?  We’d love to hear from you!

