Reflections

“When tough times come, it is particularly important to offset them with much gentle softness. Be a pillow.” ― Vera Nazarian (Image: Office.com)
“When tough times come, it is particularly important to offset them with much gentle softness. Be a pillow.”
― Vera Nazarian (Image: Office.com)

by Sandi Martinez

Ornaments hang from the tree

I see a reflection of you

and me

Your soft purrs

and my keen hearing

speak of something special

nearing

The soft glow of the crazy lights

blink off and on and I catch

the glimpse of a wet tear

from our human

Off the phone they are

finally

It would appear they are coming

someone…

My human scratches my head

absentmindedly,

as if to say it’s okay

She rushes about, doing things,

I think they call it ‘cleaning’

I am happy now, my tail wags

brushes my human’s leg

and I think I know,

The tear was a happy one

the sad ones I know well, but this one,

this one is different

Happiness comes when they show up,

Merry Christmas pal,

I raise my paw to my feline friend,

and she pats me on the head as if to

say, I did something right this time!

2 thoughts on “Reflections

Comments are closed.