DoggyMom.com

Most of my regular readers know that I work as a canine massage therapist and helping elderly dogs and those recovering from injuries is very rewarding for me.   Many of my clients use massage for their dogs as a way of staving off the need for non-steroidal inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs), or at least to keep the dosages of these drugs as low as possible.

So here’s a wee story of something that happened to me this week.

I was working on a dog who I have been seeing for 18 months.  He’s a lovely Labrador and he is starting to have the aches and pains of old age.  With a regular 5-weekly regime of massage, he’s been pain free.

Because I know this boy well, I could pick up that he was tight through his hind legs – a muscle called the biceps femoris.  When I said ‘he’s tight down…

View original post 263 more words

