I’m Back

“Absence is to love what wind is to fire; it extinguishes the small, it inflames the great.” ― Roger de Bussy-Rabutin
“Absence is to love what wind is to fire; it extinguishes the small, it inflames the great.”
―Roger De Bussy-Rabutin (Abiquiu Lake, Abiquiu, NM)

by Sandi Martinez

 

(Dedicated to my human Sandi, from Samson)

 

The countdown began…

my human aunt, told me,

Three days,

and then two

and then, I heard you

I paced, the wood floor underfoot

reverberated, the sound of my happy feet

The sound of your car familiar

and then I was comforted,

You came back for me

and when I saw your face,

I circled around,

like one of those black birds,

they call crows

But I circled for a reason;

I waited for my hug,

and that weird kiss you give me

and I didn’t care,

You were here,

and we are going home,

and you’ll never leave me again for two weeks

right?

