‘Are You Due’?

...to see the possibilities of cleaning those sheets, (blinders), and let them hang off of the line, the wind blowing it  to and fro. (Image: Office.com)
…to see the possibilities of cleaning those sheets, (blinders), and let them hang off of the line, the wind blowing it to and fro. (Image: Office.com)

by Sandi Martinez

 

… This is the question I encounter daily; a sign that hangs out at Jiffy Lube. At first, I really thought it was a question about other things in my life that I often forget to take care of, and sometimes, it’s not an issue of forgetting, as much as just not ‘having enough time’; an anomaly that so many other people seem to face daily (sadly, even on weekends). I smiled when I realized it really meant are you due for an oil change!

Still I stubbornly asked myself, how well-oiled am I? Physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually, I mean. Because let’s be honest – If you’re not well-oiled, how will you take good care of others around you, and your furry friends?

As spring rolls around, (along with all that pollen) spring cleaning starts to get closer to the top of the list. Internal spring cleaning starts to slide a few notches down the list. I look forward to it, because I can do the internal and external cleaning at the same time. Still the question remains, how will I get it all in?

Ultimately, I really let the question sink in, and realized it’s the wrong question. It’s not how, it’s when will I allow myself to open up, and clean out all the cobwebs, dust bunnies, and left-over garbage from last year, and years’ past? I began to see the possibilities of cleaning those sheets, (blinders), and let them hang off of the line, the wind blowing it to and fro. From there, comes the welcome mat, (the one that hardly anyone ever sees), and pull it out further for all to see. Then, replace all that frumpy, lumpy furniture, (this is where I invite everyone in to have a cup of tea) with more space, soft and plush inviting rugs, and sparse comfy, useful places to sit and get down to shedding all those barriers.

Spring is the time when the earth begins to thaw, the prickly tips of grass began to sprout up, and the promise of flowers and plants, trees, and bushes, began to come alive and so too, when I decide to let the sun in, and warm me down to the marrow of my bones.

RMSAAM invites you to open up along with us, and let the excitement of a new you; a future Animal Practitioner to shine your light, and share your loving touch with your animal furry/human friends, this spring… aren’t you due?

