Lazy Summer

“Laziness is the first step towards efficiency.”  ― Patrick Bennett
“Laziness is the first step towards efficiency.”
― Patrick Bennett (Image: Office.com)

by Sandi Martinez

 

I can feel it; the sun dipping lower, sooner

the black velvet of night

surrounds

and astounds

Crickets squeak, their voices chime

along with the frogs

My fur has thinned,

my waist now fairly slim

but I notice now,

the cold creeps into my bones,

The nights are cooling off

and my human’s want to

jump in their car and drive

What’s the rush, and where and why?

They say the summer is flying by

I don’t know what that means,

but I can stand to ride smooth and slow

The wind blowing through my hair

Soon, the leaves will turn

and they will crunch under my paws

But for now, I will soak up the sun

my humans in tow

Yeah… it’s a lazy summer alright

But hold on tight, fall’s just around the bend

And the earth will soon shed her skin…

2 thoughts on “Lazy Summer

Comments are closed.