All or Nothing

Sculpture by Michael A. Naranjo; a memorial dedicated to New Mexico Veterans.  NM State Library, in Santa Fe, NM.
Sculpture by Michael A. Naranjo; a memorial dedicated to New Mexico Veterans. NM State Library, in Santa Fe, NM.

 

by Sandi Martinez

 

Give it

in order to receive it

Give what?

give love,

make someone laugh

make someone cry

Open your palms,

and let it fall

through your fingers,

What fall through your fingers?

money,

food,

hugs,

love,

and more love

I want it all

and if I have nothing,

I will think nothing of it

because I have enough to

pass around

and because of that

I have everything

Give it all

open your heart

open your paws

brush your whiskers

against someone else’s

and feel the tickle,

Smile and know

it’s okay to want it all

or

nothing

