Gone, but always near…

Image                                                                Contributed by Sandi Martinez
Gone, but always near…

Some of you may remember me as the former Administrative Assistant and Receptionist for RMSAAM. I also was the blogger and blog Admin for this wonderful blog, (If I do say so myself!) and thought I would update you on the sad news of the departure of my best animal companion, Samson. He left me on February 26th.

Some of you were students here when I had my little man as my little assistant during my time at RMSAAM. Some of you even massaged him, and had quite a time getting him to sit still! In some cases I had to sit next to you, while you held him in a comforting and loving position in order to work on him; and indeed your hands were magic… he let you gradually melt away his angst and all the other stuff that comes with an adopted pup with a history. You were his human angels.

We have all lost a member of our fur-animal families… every one of you can attest to this. Yet, how do we live without them? I find myself becoming restless, and I feel empty and lonely.

He spoiled me – in retrospect, everyone might think he was spoiled but in reality, I was spoiled. He gave me love, care, protection, and a kind of company that no human is capable of.

Samson came to a point in his life when it was just his time. There was no dramatic or tragic end to his life – for this I am truly grateful. He stepped onto his next path quickly. I have no idea where he is right now as I write this. I only know there is light and love that surrounds him. He is ready to move on to his next great adventure, but he waits patiently for me to let him go so that he may arrive at his next destination with success.

I wish I could say I’m ready to let him go, but I’m not – yet.

How many of you have been here… right here where I stand? RMSAAM needs some inspiring and hopeful stories to help us move on to the next stage. Thanks in advance!

-Sandi

 

