Volunteering at Longmont Humane Society, RMSAAM Scholarship Student Emily Tronetti Tells Us About Her Experience

Big Mac I had two sessions with Big Mac before he was transferred to a rescue organization to be fostered. While Big Mac is extremely dog aggressive, he absolutely LOVES people. He enjoyed his massage more than any dog I’ve ever worked on! He would roll over into my lap and soak it all in. I was also told by staff members that he was very sleepy and mellow after our sessions!
Big Mac
I had two sessions with Big Mac before he was transferred to a rescue organization to be fostered. While Big Mac is extremely dog aggressive, he absolutely LOVES people. He enjoyed his massage more than any dog I’ve ever worked on! He would roll over into my lap and soak it all in. I was also told by staff members that he was very sleepy and mellow after our sessions!
Calle
Calle was transferred to LHS by the ASPCA after being rescued from a large dog-fighting bust in the south. She was a bait dog, and she has some significant anxiety at the shelter. Calle and I have had seven massage sessions together, and I have loved getting to know her. She hates being in the shelter, so I try to always take her to the park nearby for her massages. She has been challenging at times, but during our last two sessions, I’ve tried Merlin’s Magic by Frogworks, and I truly think it helps! While massaging her has taught me how to remain grounded and calm, I’ve found it difficult not to let her break my heart. She has been as the shelter since last summer and deserves a loving home so much. Please spread the word about this girl, so she can find her forever home!

 Written by Emily Tronetti

As a part of my scholarship to RMSAAM, I have been massaging dogs at the Longmont Humane Society since April 11th.  While working with the dogs at LHS, I have learned so much—not only about massage but about myself.

 

Here is a bit about the dogs I’ve been blessed to get to know and learn from.

If you ever have the opportunity to work with shelter dogs, go for it! It may be emotionally difficult for some people, but I promise you, it will be worth it.

 

 

Calle cuddles
Calle cuddles!
Cedric gives me kisses!
Cedric gives me kisses!
Cedric
Cedric is a big man with a big heart, and I’ve loved working on and learning from him the past three weeks! He has severe skin allergies and judging by his scars, I think was never treated for them. I hope massage can help relax this guy and ease some of his discomfort!
Kitty
Kitty I massaged Kitty for the first time last weekend. While I don’t know much about her history yet, I can tell that Kitty the little pittie has been through a lot in her mere year of living. She has had at least one litter of puppies, and she is very timid. She was a challenge to massage, because she has a difficult time with feeling like she is being restrained in any way. I could even sense her anxiety increase if I had two hands on her instead of one. Massaging Kitty will be a work in progress, but I feel in the hour I spent with her she grew to trust me if even just a little bit more. I was able to perform some effleurage, and she happily took treats from me. I even got a kiss on the cheek at the end of our session. I can’t wait to continue to work with her!
Marilyn
Marilyn has been another dog to test my ability to breathe deep and remain a calming force. She is a very smart, sweet girl but she can also be very stubborn! However, the more sessions we’ve had together, the more she settles right into her massage!
Sadie
Sadie was very anxious and restless in her kennel. I remember during our first session, I was so sure it wasn’t going to work. She kept trying to jump at me (playfully) whenever I would try to sit down next to her. I tried very hard to keep myself calm and grounded. Eventually, I was able to sit down next to her, and perform some effleurage. Within just a few minutes, she was literally sitting in my lap, letting me work on her! It was amazing. We only had one more session together after that before she was adopted!
2 thoughts on “Volunteering at Longmont Humane Society, RMSAAM Scholarship Student Emily Tronetti Tells Us About Her Experience

  1. Reblogged this on Sandi Martinez and commented:
    I couldn’t help but share this sweet and touching story from RMSAAM! Pass it on folks… Animal shelters are forever needing financial assistance, and loving adopting families coming through their doors!

    Like

  2. This is a very touching story… I think these sweet ones deserve the best chance they can have at having a loving, and nurturing home. Thank you Emily for your touch, care, and energetic contribution! I’d love to hear more of these kinds of stories with students doing what they do best… provide a positive, and nurturing atmosphere for animals to heal and know love and happiness – even if for a short time – it is after all, a taste of what they can and will have with loving families that adopt them. Thank you!

    Like

Comments are closed.