If I was a tree

...I would be shade for all humans, animals, and bugs alike...(Image: Sandi Martinez)
…I would be shade for all humans, animals, and bugs alike…(Image: Sandi Martinez)

 

(Contributed) by Sandi Martinez

I would flow freely in the breeze
my branches would soak up sun
my leaves would become one

If I was a tree
I would reach the skies
my stature would amaze one and all
I would sway this way and that

I would be shade for all
humans, animals, and bugs alike
I would lean over until I couldn’t reach
it would be a lesson I could teach

If I was a tree I would sway slowly in the breeze
my branches would seed leaves
my trunk could carry many burdens
And
Become
The key

To a simple yet, full life…
but alas, I am not a tree
I am me
stuck in a warp hole
that no one can control

Every day, my only goal
is to
be
me,
and be like
the
Tree

 

 

