The Unfurling

by Sandi Martinez

 

A bud nudges its leafy neighbor as if to say, I’m ready... (Image: Sandi Martinez
A bud nudges its leafy neighbor
as if to say, I’m ready… (Image: Sandi Martinez

by Sandi Martinez

A bud nudges its leafy neighbor
as if to say, I’m ready
the leaf asks
for what?

And the bud says
to open up
And the leaf asks
to what?

And the bud says, I don’t know

and the leaf says,
that’s all you should know

And the bud says,
why?
isn’t there more?

And the leaf says
once you open up,
everything is a possibility

and the bud says
isn’t it now, in my closed state?

And the leaf says,
only if you think that way, rather limited if you ask me

So the bud says,
how will I know that something is a possibility?

and the leaf says,
BECAUSE IT ALWAYS STARES IN YOU IN THE FACE

