Beeutie and the Beast

“Well, you kinda look cute when they do that thing to you. You look something like… a flower.” (Image: Microsoft.)
“Well, you kinda look cute when they do that thing to you. You look something like… a flower.” (Image: Microsoft.)

by Sandi Martinez

[Another RMSAAM Dog’s POV story]

“Hey, why don’t you go, they never take you – not fair.” Brody the Poodle let himself fall to the ground with an exhausted thump.

“Hulllooooo, I’m a cat,” Beeutie bathed herself, the sun’s rays warm on her back. The edges of her fur glistened.

“What does that have to do with anything?” Brody scratched himself in the newly trimmed patches around his ears. “I don’t understand, they say I look really cute when they use those metals and loud razor things when they’re done, but then when I don’t go, they don’t say I look cute. They rub me here and there, and suddenly I hear those words, time for a trim Brody… and I shudder, because I know what’s next…” he yawned.

“Well, you kinda look cute when they do that thing to you. You look something like… a flower.” she smiled.

“I don’t know if that was supposed to be a compliment, but I like myself just the way I am without the metal,” his yawn turned to a brooding grin.

“Oh come on Brody, stop being such a big baby! It’s gotta feel good you have to admit. I mean surely you feel a bit more fresh?” Beeutie’s curiosity became serious.

“Fresh?” Brody was confused.

“Yeah, cooler?”

“No, I mean yes, but I can do without it. I think it’s only so the humans can coo over me like I’m some kind of zoo animal.” Brody responded in all seriousness.

“Does this really bother you?”

“Yes, Bee it really bothers me.”

“Oh, I’m sorry. Well, let’s put it this way, at least you won’t look like such a beast!” she rubbed herself lightly and playfully on his fir.

“Beeutie, I am a beast!”

“Okay, at least you can admit it. What if I do this,” she gently pawed at the soft bald spots around his back and abdomen.

He giggled. “What, tickle me?” he said through short laughs.

“I once heard a human say, if they brush their hair often, it makes it grow.” Her voice took on an authoritative tone, and exaggerated the fierce green and gold flecks of her eyes.

Brody sat up and held her paw down. “Look, I’m just complaining. Soon, I’ll get used to the itches, and then they’ll stop and hair will grow again. I’ll feel normal until…”

“… You go under the scissors again,” she nodded in sympathy. “Well Brody, look at the bright side, at least I won’t be embarrassed to be seen with you!” she smiled and jumped on his back.

Brody grinned and walked outside with Beeutie on his back. The timing should be just right… The sprinklers went off, and he was in heaven. Beeutie screamed and slapped him on the face as she ran for her life back into the house.

Who’s embarrassed now, he grinned and rubbed his back and sides in the artificial rain.

